Home / Sport / Nepali boxers reign supreme

Nepali boxers reign supreme

Nepali boxers dominated the first Indramaya Memorial International Boxing Championship here at Boshigaun today.

Lalita Maharjan of Tribhuvan Army Club won the women’s 48kg section gold medal beating Nangja Budha Magar 5-0, while her TAC teammate Bimala Shrestha beat Mala Rai 3-2 in the 51kg weight category final. Another TAC boxer Minu Gurung edged past Nisha Tamang 3-2 in the 54kg section final, whereas Sangita Sunar of Nepal APF Club beat Punam Rawal 3-2 to win the 60kg weight category gold medal.

In men’s section, TAC’s Tej Bahadur Deuba defeated Pradeep Maharjan in the 49kg weight category, while his teammate Prem Chaudhary won the 52kg section gold medal beating India’s Sachin in Referee-Stop-Contest (RSC) decision. Likewise, Puran Rao beat Bimal Roka Magar in all-Nepal 56kg section final bout, while Nima Dorjee of Bhutan defeated Nepal’s Ek Bahadur Ghale 3-2 in 60kg section final.

Bhupendra Thapa Magar of Nepal Police Club beat Dorjee Wangjeli of Bhutan 5-0 in the final bout of the 64kg weight category, whereas APF’s Bikash Lama beat Bishnu Prasad Ghale 5-0 in 69kg section final. Likewise, TAC boxer Deepak Shrestha defeated Rabi Sunar to win the 75kg weight category gold medal.

Top three boxers in all weight categories received Rs 15,000, Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively. Boxers from Nepal, India and Bhutan took part in the two-day event organised by Boshigaun Boxing Club in memory of Indramaya Maharjan, mother of Asian Games medallist boxer Deepak Maharjan. Member of Parliament Pampha Bhushal, General Federation of Nepalese Trade Unions President Binod Shrestha and President of Nepal Boxing Association Ram Awale among others handed over the prizes to the winners.

Leave a comment

Check Also

Man City survive Nkunku hat-trick to overwhelm Leipzig 6-3

Manchester City, last season’s Champions League runners-up, crushed RB Leipzig 6-3 in a thrilling Group ...