Home / Sport / Former Nepal No 1 Shrestha, Katuwal win
Nepal APF Club’s Bikash Shrestha serves to Narayan Das Shrestha of Ramechhap during their preliminary round match of the 12th Nationwide Krishna Mohan Memorial Open Badminton Tournament in Kathmandu on Monday. Photo: Udipt Singh Chhetry/THT

Former Nepal No 1 Shrestha, Katuwal win

Former Nepal No 1 Bikash Shrestha of Bhojpur and Bishnu Katuwal of Nepal Police Club (NPC) opened with victories in the men’s singles of Yonex Sunrise eighth Pushpa Lal Memorial National Open Badminton Championships here at the National Sports Council covered hall on Tuesday.
Shrestha eased to a 21-10, 21-12 victory over Pemba Sherpa of Jest Badminton Academy and Katuwal routed Rohit Malla 21-10, 21-6. In other matches, the Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) trio of Sunil Joshi, Sudeep Sedhain and Sajan Krishna Tamrakar also registered victories. Joshi overcame Narendra Thakuri of Surkhet 21-12, 21-9, Sedhain got the better of Sujan Thapa of Jest 21-13, 21-17 and Tamrakar dispatched Mohan Gurung of Lalitpur 21-18, 21-11.


Nir Bikram Devkota of NPC sidelined Irfan Ansari of Banke 21-13, 21-11, Rukesh Maharjan of Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) eased past Akhil Shrestha of Jest 21-13, 21-15, Bijit Thapa of APF saw off Arjun Tamang of Jest 21-11, 21-5 and Jeevan Acharya of NPC overcame Priyanshu Singh Chhetri of Jest 21-21, 21-9, 21-11.
Also recording wins on the opening day were Nirajan Devkota and Praful Maharjan of TAC, Gautam Kathayat of APF, Prince Dahal of Silk Group and Deepak Bohora of NPC. In the boys’ singles U-17 category, Suraj Gupta of Dang battled to a 21-13, 27-25 victory over Sumit Kumar Ghimire of Palpa and Jaibi Saud of Kailali dispatched Adarsha Rawal 21-15, 21-9.
Himansu Kunwar of Dang, Alish Thapa of Chitwan, Narendra Thakuri of Surkhet, Anish Katiwada of Bara, Bibek Chaudhary of Kanchanpur, Amrit Chaudhary of Kailali, Sajal Thapa of Nepalgunj, Manish Thapa of Surkhet, Himal Chand of Kanchanpur and Chhitiz KC of Tehrathum also won U-17 boys’ singles games.
In the women’s singles, Safi Khatri of Jest and Ranjan Bhatta of TAC registered victories. Khatri edged Anjana Rai of Jhapa 22-20, 21-19 and Bhatta had to struggle in her 21-8, 20-22, 21-15 victory over Smriti Rai of Jest. The top three in the men’s and women’s singles category will get Rs 50,000, Rs 25,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively.


Leave a comment

Check Also

Man City survive Nkunku hat-trick to overwhelm Leipzig 6-3

Manchester City, last season’s Champions League runners-up, crushed RB Leipzig 6-3 in a thrilling Group ...

Leave a Reply