Home / News / Agni Prasad Sapkota elected House speaker unopposed

Agni Prasad Sapkota elected House speaker unopposed

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office and secrecy to newly elected Speaker of the House of Representatives (HoR), Agni Prasad Sapkota.

Sapkota, who was elected to the post Sunday, took oath of office before the Head-of-the-State amidst a ceremony at the President’s Office, Shital Niwas today on the witness of Vice President Nanda Bahadur Pun, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher JB Rana and National Assembly Chair Ganesh Prasad Timilsina.

Deputy Prime Minister Ishwor Pokhrel, former Prime Minister and Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, ministers, lawmakers, and officials from the constitutional bodies were also present on the occasion.

The  House of Representatives elected him to the post unopposed. He was the sole candidate in the election.

Leave a comment

Check Also

NEPSE Index Loses Double Digits to Close at 2,168.53; Five Scrips Hit Positive Circuit

The NEPSE index closed at 2,168.53 today after losing 14.68 points from the last trading ...