Home / Sport / 10-man Sankata down Jawalakhel

10-man Sankata down Jawalakhel

Cedric Aba scored a brace as 10-man CMG Club Sankata defeated Jawalakhel Youth Club in the Pulsar Martyrs Memorial ‘A’ Division League here at the ANFA Complex grounds today.

After a goalless draw in the first half, Aba scored twice in the latter half to give Sankata their second straight victory in the league. Sankata were reduced to 10 men in the 19th minute after Elon Maxwell got marching orders for double booking. Maxwell intentionally targeted JYC defender Adama Dumbia a minute after collecting the first yellow and he deservedly received the red card.

JYC, who failed to make the numerical advantage count in the first half, came close to opening the score moments after the resumption. Sankata defender rescued his team with a beautiful save to deny Dumbia’s header on Kuldeep Thapa’s pass. Against the run of the play, Sankata took the lead in the 58th minute. Fed by Subash Gurung inside the penalty area, Aba buried the ball into the nets. Aba sealed the victory in the 85th minute with a back-heel shot following a pass from Laxman Ruchal.

In another match, Prabin Syangtan scored the solitary goal as Nepal APF Club beat NIBL Friends Club 1-0. At a time when the match was heading toward a draw, Syangtan found the winner deep in the injury time to snatch full three points for the departmental side.

Earlier, Friends goalkeeper Md Nurul Karim saved Rup Bahadur Lama’s attempt in the 13th minute, while the Bangladeshi custodian denied Syangtan with yet another brilliant save minutes later.

Friends created a couple of opportunities in the second half but they failed to find the back of the nets. APF keeper Raju Yogi saved Fofona’s shot moments after the resumption.

APF then controlled the match and attacked Friends goal but the departmental team could not convert them. Syangtan failed to capitalise on defensive error as he could not score in one-on-one in the 57th minute.

In the 75th minute, Rajendra Rawal saw his header sail over the bar following a free kick from Biswas Udas. Rawal headed home a couple of minutes later but he was ruled offside. Syangtan separated the two sides with a goal in the injury time.

At the Nepal APF Club grounds in Halchowk, Himalayan Sherpa Club edged past Saraswoti Youth Club 1-0. Biswas Shrestha scored the solitary goal of the match in 30th minute. Himalayan Sherpa dominate the match and had better ball possession but they failed to add to the tally despite creating ample opportunities.

After the completion of the second round, Ruslan Three Star Club, Signature Manang Marshyangdi Club and CMG Club Sankata are the three teams with maximum six points. Three departmental sides Tribhuvan Army Club, APF and Nepal Police Club have four points each along with Himalayan Sherpa. Machhindra FC (two), Chyasal Youth Club (two) and New Road Team (one) have opened their accounts, while Friends, Saraswoti, Jawalakhel and Brigade Boys Club are the four teams without points.


Leave a comment

Check Also

Man City survive Nkunku hat-trick to overwhelm Leipzig 6-3

Manchester City, last season’s Champions League runners-up, crushed RB Leipzig 6-3 in a thrilling Group ...